Select Page

Cubs’ World Series drought comes to an end

In a game that will go down in history as an instant classic, the Chicago Cubs outlasted the Cleveland Indians.

In 10 innings on Wednesday, Nov. 2, the Cubs defeated the Indians 8-7, lifting a 108-year-old weight off of the chest of every Cubs fan across the globe, bringing home the Commissioner’s Trophy to the north side of Chicago.

Ben Zobrist was named the MVP of the World Series for knocking in the go ahead run in the top of the tenth with a RBI double down the third base line scoring Albert Almora Jr. to put the Cubs up 7-6, before Miguel Montero’s single scored Anthony Rizzo to increase their lead 8-6.

The last time the Cubs where World Series champions was when they went back-to-back in 1907 and 1908. Coming close to participating in the World Series last year falling victim to the Mets via a 4-0 sweep, the Cubs reached the World Series for the first time since 1945 this season.

About The Author

Miguel Rodriguez

Miguel Rodriguez is a sophomore communications major at FGCU. Miguel is from Lyndhurst, New Jersey, and has lived in the Cape for seven years. Rodriguez would one day like to be an anchor for Sportscenter on ESPN. Miguel supports Real Madrid, Arsenal, the Lakers, the Yankees, the Jets, and Orlando City Soccer Club. When not watching his favorite teams in action or covering sporting events, Miguel likes to play FIFA and spend time with friends, and family.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.