The Student News Site of Florida Gulf Coast University

Eagle Media

Eagle Media

Eagle Media

Cubs’ World Series drought comes to an end

In a game that will go down in history as an instant classic, the Chicago Cubs outlasted the Cleveland Indians.
In 10 innings on Wednesday, Nov. 2, the Cubs defeated the Indians 8-7, lifting a 108-year-old weight off of the chest of every Cubs fan across the globe, bringing home the Commissioner’s Trophy to the north side of Chicago.
Ben Zobrist was named the MVP of the World Series for knocking in the go ahead run in the top of the tenth with a RBI double down the third base line scoring Albert Almora Jr. to put the Cubs up 7-6, before Miguel Montero’s single scored Anthony Rizzo to increase their lead 8-6.
The last time the Cubs where World Series champions was when they went back-to-back in 1907 and 1908. Coming close to participating in the World Series last year falling victim to the Mets via a 4-0 sweep, the Cubs reached the World Series for the first time since 1945 this season.

Story continues below advertisement
Leave a Comment
More to Discover

Comments (0)

All Eagle Media Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *