The Student News Site of Florida Gulf Coast University

Eagle Media

Eagle Media

Eagle Media

FGCU earns third A-Sun All-Sports Championship

Photo courtesy of Linwood Ferguson
With a first-place finish in the women’s All- Sports race and a third- place finish in the men’s All-Sports standings, FGCU has won the Bill Bibb Trophy and claimed the 2015-16 Atlantic Sun Conference All-Sports Championship for the third time in four years.
“We are extremely proud of another tremendous collective overall performance by our student athletes, coaches, staff and donors in again winning two of the three all-sports trophies,” said Ken Kavanagh, the director of FGCU Athletics.
Even though the men fell short to Kennesaw State for second place in the race for the Jesse C. Fletcher Trophy by earning 93 points out of 132, FGCU took thenwomen’s Sherman Day Trophy for the third time in four years, totaling 144 points out of a possible 159 for 90.6 percent. Combined, FGCU’s six men’s teams and nine women’s programs totaled 237 points out of 291 for an overall percentage of 81.4.
Points for this award are given in descending order in three-point increments, making the final standings based on percentages. For team sports, points are awarded based on a school’s regular-season finish. For individual sports, points are awarded based on A-Sun Championship results. If tied, then both schools split the combined points.
Women’s soccer won both the A-Sun regular- season and tournament titles this year, while men’s soccer, women’s basketball, men’s tennis and softball claimed regular-season crowns. Additionally, second-place finishes by men’s basketball, women’s golf, volleyball and women’s tennis and third-place finishes by beach volleyball, men’s and women’s cross country assisted the Eagles to this well-deserved achievement.
Beyond the A-Sun and CCSA wins for FGCU in 2015-16, the women’s soccer team claimed its first NCAA Tournament victory, as the Eagles defeated USF in the First Round in Tampa. The men’s basketball team won their second A-Sun Tournament title in four years and returned to the NCAA Tournament.
Since joining the A-Sun in 2007-08, FGCU has won 53 conference regular season and tournament titles, including seven CCSA crowns, averaging more than five per season. This is also only the fourth year of DI postseason eligibility since 2011-

Story continues below advertisement
Leave a Comment
More to Discover

Comments (0)

All Eagle Media Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *