The Student News Site of Florida Gulf Coast University

Eagle Media

Eagle Media

Eagle Media

Women’s soccer takes home numerous Atlantic Sun Conference Awards

On the eve of the Atlantic Sun Conference Tournament, A-Sun announced its postseason award recipients. After winning its sixth consecutive A-Sun regular-season crown, the FGCU women’s soccer team had eight players receive A-Sun all-conference honors.
Tabby Tindell was named Player of the Year after a season that saw her lead the conference with 15 goals and 8 assists. Tindell is now the third player in conference history to receive back-to-back Player of the Year recognition
After being named Defensive Player of the Year for the second year in a row, Emma Blackwell became the first player in A-Sun history to receive this award twice. Blackwell was an anchor for the Eagle defense, leading them to a total of nine shutouts — four of which occurred in A-Sun conference play.
After coaching the Eagles to their sixth consecutive crown, Jim Blankenship was selected as the A-Sun Coach of the Year. Blankenship has earned this honor for the past four seasons, setting the A-Sun conference record for most all-time honors.
Joining Tindell and Blackwell in the A-Sun First Team All-Conference is the midfield duo Ally Kasun and Nikki Hudson. Kasun is now the second player in conference history to be named to the First Team four consecutive times.
Highlighting the All-Atlantic Sun Second Team for the Eagles are Paulina Speckmaier and Shea Rhoney. Speckmaier contributed to the Eagles high scoring offense with 4 goals and 4 assists this season. As captain of the Eagles, Rhoney contributed to the Eagle defense that recorded nine shutouts this season.
Representing the Eagles on the All-Atlantic Sun Freshmen Team are Camile Knudstrup and Darien Davis. Knudstrup made an immediate impact on the defensive side of the ball, helping the Eagles limit opponents to just 6.3 shots per game. Davis was a key player for the Eagles off the bench, scoring 2 goals and tallying an assist this season.
The Eagles will now focus their attention on the A-Sun Conference Tournament, where they are the seeded at No.1 and hold home field advantage throughout the tournament.

Story continues below advertisement
Leave a Comment
More to Discover

Comments (0)

All Eagle Media Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *