The Student News Site of Florida Gulf Coast University

Eagle Media

Eagle Media

Eagle Media

The Divergent series’ final part ‘Allegiant’ premieres March 18

The first part of ”Allegiant” will premiere March 18, while part two will be released June 9. (Photo Special to Eagle News)
The first part of ”Allegiant” will premiere March 18, while part two will be released June 9. (Photo Special to Eagle News)

The Divergent series has captured the attention and hearts of thousands of young adult fiction lovers since the first novel, “Divergent,” was published by author Veronica Roth back in 2011.
Since then, the other two novels in the trilogy, “Insurgent” and “Allegiant,” have been published.
Movie adaptations, starring Shailene Woodley as heroine Beatrice “Tris” Prior and Theo James as hero Tobias “Four” Eaton, have also been released between 2014 until a predetermined 2017.
The movie “Allegiant,” which is the final installment of the three books, is to be released Friday, March 18.
The Divergent series follows Tris Prior through her experience of going through the traditional Choosing Ceremony at the age of 16 with her brother, Caleb.
From there, both Tris and Caleb leave their home faction, Abnegation. Tris soon discovers she is what is called divergent in this futuristic world.
Being divergent is not a good thing.
To be divergent means that you possess the characteristics of all five factions: Abnegation (selflessness), Dauntless (bravery), Amity (peacefulness), Candor (honesty) and Erudite (intelligence).
Those who are divergent are seen as threats to the purpose of factions.
The characters that have lasted until this last part of the series will now venture beyond the fence that the small city of Chicago had always known about but never explored the possibilities of.
The war of the Erudite faction was introduced in the first book and continued on through the second. Beyond that wall, however, is a discovery none of the characters ever imagined to come across.
This series and its movie franchise seriously takes the bull of dystopian and science fiction realities by the horns and shows its readers and viewers an entirely new world.
Just like other series of its kind, such as “Harry Potter” and “The Hunger Games,” “Allegiant” will be split into two parts. The second part of the movie will be released June 9, 2017 and will take a different name rather than “Allegiant: Part II” — “Ascendant.”

Story continues below advertisement
Leave a Comment
More to Discover

Comments (0)

All Eagle Media Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *